Prism Diamonds


Prism Banner Color

Naturally Brilliant - Measured Perfection.


Prism Diamonds are cut, measured and qualified to the deliver the world's highest performing standards in Brilliance, Fire and Sparkle.  Every Prism Diamond, whether it is a Round, Princess, Oval or Cushion shape, is analyzed using the Gemex Light Performance Imaging System to produce 3 High to Very High in White Light, Color Light and Scintillation response.  This means you are guaranteed quality and when you deliver a symbol of your affection for a lifetime.

Prism Cut

Round Dims

Cut is the factor that fuels a diamond’s brilliance, fire, and sparkle.

People often think of diamond cut as shape. Round is the shape used in most diamond jewelry. All other shapes are known as fancy shapes. Traditional fancy shapes include the princess,  cushion, marquise, pear, oval and Emerald.


The traditional 58 facets in a round brilliant diamond, each precisely cut and defined, are as small as two millimeters in diameter. But without this precision, a diamond wouldn’t be nearly as beautiful. The allure of a particular diamond depends more on cut than anything else.

As a value factor, though, cut refers to a diamond’s proportions, symmetry and polish. For example, look at a side view of the standard round brilliant. The major components, from top to bottom, are the crown, girdle and pavilion. A round brilliant cut diamond has 57 or 58 facets, the 58th being a tiny flat facet at the bottom of the pavilion that’s known as the culet. The large, flat facet on the top is the table. The proportions of a diamond refer to the relationships between table size, crown angle and pavilion depth.

A wide range of proportion combinations are possible, and these ultimately affect the stone’s interaction with light.   The GIA only grades to the follows:

GIA Cut Grade

However, this metric does not tell the whole story.  The cut of any diamond actually results in three key attributes :

       brilliance (the total light reflected from a diamond),

       fire (the dispersion of light into the colors of the spectrum), and

       scintillation (the pattern of light and dark areas and the flashes of light, or sparkle, when a diamond is moved).

Recent advancements in metrology equipment has enabled these attributes to be quantified using precision optics and direction light sources.  The following is sample report from Gemex analyzer showing the light response measurements from varying angles:

Gemex Logo 220
Gemex grade

The following is a comparison of three similar carat, color and clarity (ex. G, SI1)  diamonds with varying results:

Gemex comp

The Prism Diamond, exclusively from Glennpeter, utilizes Gemex technology to guarantee the highest performance in all 3 parameters for best-in-class Brilliance, Fire and Sparkle.  Each Spectral Diamonds comes with a Gemex Certificate showing its unique fingerprint images which differentiates from all others.


Gia Color

Diamond color is all about what you can’t see. Diamonds are valued by how closely they approach colorlessness – the less color, the higher their value. (The exception to this is fancy color diamonds, such as pinks and blues, which lie outside this color range.) Most diamonds found in jewelry stores run from colorless to near-colorless, with slight hints of yellow or brown.

gia color grade

GIA’s color-grading scale for diamonds is the industry standard. The scale begins with the letter D, representing colorless, and continues with increasing presence of color to the letter Z, or light yellow or brown. Each letter grade has a clearly defined range of color appearance. Diamonds are color-graded by comparing them to stones of known color under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions.

Many of these color distinctions are so subtle as to be invisible to the untrained eye. But these slight differences make a very big difference in diamond quality and price.


gia clarity

Because diamonds formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure, they often contain unique birthmarks, either internal (inclusions) or external (blemishes).

Diamond clarity refers to the absence of these inclusions and blemishes. Diamonds without these birthmarks are rare, and rarity affects a diamond’s value. Using the GIA International Diamond Grading System™, diamonds are assigned a clarity grade that ranges from flawless (FL) to diamonds with obvious  inclusions (I3).

Every diamond is unique. None is absolutely perfect under 10× magnification, though some come close. Known as Flawless diamonds, these are exceptionally rare. Most jewelers have never even seen one.

gia clarity grade

The GIA Clarity Scale contains 11 grades, with most diamonds falling into the VS (very slightly included) or SI (slightly included) categories. In determining a clarity grade, the GIA system considers the size, nature, position, color or relief, and quantity of clarity characteristics visible under 10× magnification.

  • Flawless (FL) – No inclusions or blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10× magnification
  • Internally Flawless (IF) – No inclusions and only blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10× magnification
  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2) – Inclusions are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10× magnification
  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2) – Inclusions are minor and range from difficult to somewhat easy for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification
  • Slightly Included (SIand SI2) – Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader under 10x magnification
  • Included (I1, I2, and I3) – Inclusions are obvious under 10× magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance

Carat Weight


Diamonds and other gemstones are weighed in metric carats: one carat is equal to 0.2 grams, about the same weight as a paperclip. (Don’t confuse carat with karat, as in “18K gold,” which refers to gold purity.)

Just as a dollar is divided into 100 pennies, a carat is divided into 100 points. For example, a 50-point diamond weighs 0.50 carats. But two diamonds of equal weight can have very different values depending on the other members of the Four C’s: clarity, color and cut.  Diamond weights greater than one carat are expressed in carats and decimals. (For instance, a 1.08 ct. stone would be described as “one point oh eight carats,” or “one oh eight.”)

Visit Prism Diamonds